WITH ELECTRONICS


  • L’île Paradis qu’on ne doit pas dire | creation 2018

The writer Henry Bauchau (1913-2012) writes to himself and gives his readers his intimate thoughts. From his letters and diaries written during the gestation and the writing of the novel L’enfant bleu (Actes Sud, 2004) based on a true story, this show explores freely the correspondances between what we don’t know, live, dream or create when everyday life tears. Inside the mysterious echo of images and sounds, the young psychotic Orion draws at the day hospital with his “psychotherateacher” the labyrinths that will lead him towards creation.

L’enfant bleu is a text meant to be read and perhaps oneday set to music.
Henry Bauchau, Passage de la Bonne-Graine, 1999

Thank you for having made me – made us – live this unique moment. I am sure that Henry [Bauchau] was with you, with us and that he would undoubtedly have loved your Enfant bleu. […] One does not stand out unhurt of L’île Paradis qu’on ne doit pas dire. […] We were all together with you, with each other, with the living, with what in us exceeds us and includes us. We were in the « physical hymn », that one which drives us and carries us towards the hope. […] We were raised. We went down in love and we felt the most buried « in the island and the treasure ». We were in front of the abrupt of a nameless evidence.
Régis Lefort, writer and poet, specialist of Henry Bauchau, 2018

With meticulous attention to detail, the show […] shapes a labyrinth of sounds and images, of colors and words, of voice and singing… in which each can get lost according to his imagination. Pierre-Adrien Charpy’s music […] develops a rich sound world […]. It is omnipresent but it makes necessary room to discourse, to the mosaic story of Raphaële Kennedy’s and Vincent Bouchot’s speaking and/or singing voices. Their duo moves beyond the subject, by their powerful and collusive presence which is amplified by the phantasmagorical « put in sound » of ingenious-engineer Franck Rossi. This « total artwork » show is also good thanks to Isabelle Françaix’s poetic video creation and its moving images […].
Zibeline, Jacques Freschel, 2018


  • Ekstasis | creation 2019
    Music by Kaija Saariaho, Jean-Baptiste Barrière
    Visual conception and realisation by Jean-Baptiste Barrière


Aliisa Neige Barrière | violin
Camilla Hoitenga | flutes
Raphaële Kennedy | voice
Jean-Baptiste Barrière | conception, music and visual realisation
Thomas Goepfer | computer music design
Pierre-Jean Bouyer, François Galard | visual co-realisation
Isabelle Barrière | cameras and video control

This concert/show, with its visual dimension that is closely linked to my musical writing, offers […] a path, a passing through my work. It testifies of my musical career in an original way.
Kaija Saariaho

Above all, images must not prevent from listening to music […]. They should not be stuck on music or, on the contrary, not be an illustration of music. They should not be either a comment on or around music. Therefore, they have to exist through their own writing which is structured with musical writing. They must have the same ideas or techniques of musical composition developed in another sensitive dimension, without pleonasm nor arbitrary antagonism, in a dynamic and evolutionary interaction. […] In this program, music extends into images, the one becomes the continuation of other one.
Jean-Baptiste Barrière


Kaija Saariaho
Lonh (live extract)

Soprano Raphaële Kennedy gave an outstanding rendition of the vocal element of the piece, which includes much pure singing but also a wealth of extended vocal techniques. Accompanied only by electronics, Kennedy managed to retain her sense of pitch while sailing magnificently through the enormous vocal challenges Lonh presents.
Opera News, Argo McKinnon, 2012

[…] Lonh, a solo soprano work given a virtuosic reading by Raphaële Kennedy […]
The New-York Times, Allan Kozinn, 2012

Raphaële Kennedy was the riveting soloist in the newest work on the program, Ekstasis (2014).
The New-York Times, Zachary Woolfe, 2014


  • À elle-même révélée
    Music by Pierre-Adrien Charpy, Robert Pascal, Kaija Saariaho

Have we only idea of how much a singer is alone in such a program, in spite of infinite staff and unlimited timbres of the widest orchestra? Undoubtedly alone but not absolutely alone. […] it is above all the relative uniqueness of the voice passed through « live electronics processing ». The inelegant expression still sounds his geek a little; it means nevertheless nothing more esoteric that a new way to open and to fill musical spaces which get dug around the voice. Doubled and redoubled voice, taken in the echo, accompanied, followed, anticipated or caught by these other voices which live in us without we are really aware of it, until a composer just reveals them.
Didier Lamare

Pierre-Adrien Charpy
Vivante morte éblouie (extract from two-CD set Sillages)

Robert Pascal
Xi ling (live extract)

The voice of Raphaële Kennedy […] has a crystalline quality, a spark shooting up from the angle of the word. A crystal through which pass the elusive colours of stained glass windows smelted at a very high temperature; yes, it is something like this, a fusing voice, virtuoso without grandstanding, a crystal, transparency incarnate. Even if a crystal beats in electronics, it is not enough to sing phonemes, using all ways of expressing that ring the language […]. It is also necessary to get flesh and blood as well as meaning palpitation out of them, to gave us the taste in order to convey emotion, at the same time and with the same requirement. This is exactly what happens on both sides of the mirror of electronics, little miracle renewed all the time by the interlacing of fixed voice and living voice. 
Demi-cadratin.fr, Didier Lamare, may 2015

Vivante morte éblouie, two paragraphs in Belle du Seigneur by Albert Cohen in which the swell runs on electronic waves, illuminated by the bright foam of Raphaële Kennedy’s voice […].
Le blog-note de Benito on radio dialogue RCF, Benito Pelegrín, 2017


  • Écrire la nuit | creation 2018
    Music by Kaija Saariaho, Philippe Leroux, Loïse Bulot

In this program based on eclectic texts, the voice wears the artists’s desire to write the night, their night. The astral music of Loïse Bulot makes us dream. It comes with Emily Dickinson for whom shadows are always necessary and liberating; it responds to Kaija Saariaho’s inner world, to the troubadour Jaufré Rudel’s ethereal love which is lived beyond distance ; it opposes dynamic sound gestures of Philippe Leroux and burning expression of darkness and light from Edmond Jabès’s text.


AS A DUET WITH YANNICK VARLET | Organ


  • O beata Virgo
    Music by Claudio Monteverdi, Alessandro Grandi, Giovanni Felice Sances, Bonifacio Graziani

« Who is she who shines like the dawn when it appears? … Fair as the moon, clear as the sun, she brings abundant joy to earth, heaven and seas alike. »


  • Gott, eile zu mir
    Music by Heinrich Schütz, Dietrich Buxtehude, Johann-Christoph Bach

In the 17th century it was said that Italy sang, Germany prayed and France danced. The musical production of Germanic composers of this period is marked by a profound piety.


  • Veni in hortum mum
    French music of the 17th century

The music illustrating this programme is based on that universal but at the same time so individual biblical text that is the Song of Songs. This great love poem, attributed to the great King Solomon, the wisest of sages, can be seen as an expression of both human love and mystical love.


AS A DUET WITH JEAN-LUC HO | Harpsichord


  • Faces of women in Purcell’s songs

The women who feature in the poetry of Purcell’s songs are all so many contrasted images. We can find in Orpheus Britannicus and Harmonia sacra – whose extracts are the object of this program – the absent beloved woman, the scornful or cruel one, the eternally in love one, the later to become Queen, the goddess, the Virgin. With his incomparable genius Purcell pays homage to all of these images of women, all equally captivating.


  • Sances and Valentini, italian composers in the court of Vienna

AS A DUET WITH MARYLISE FLORID | Guitar


  • Soleils
    Texts and Music by Federico Garcia-Lorca, Manuel De Falla, Enrique Granados, Heitor Villa-Lobos, Andrée Chédid, Pierre-Adrien Charpy

In sublimating the alternation of temporal suns as a natural phenomenon, this contrasted, personified poetry and music depicts two interior, emotional suns. The first is the symbol of day, of life, of action, of passions, of extreme and exalted feelings, whilst the second is that of nocturnal rest, of contemplation, of nostalgic and melancholy sentiments.

Federico Garcia-Lorca
Canciones españolas antiguas (live extract)

Pierre-Adrien Charpy
Ce corps (extract from two-CD set Sillages)

[…] one hears every aspect and nuance of the word in the voice. Its melancholy interior and its light, its power to carve by making frozen breastplates flow red, but also the breath which brings it to life, the soft fragility of felt : one can also hear the body in a state of permanent tension, each word of the poem being brought out by the counterpoint of the guitar.
Didier Lamare, 2017


AS A DUET WITH CAMILLA HOITENGA | Flutes


  • Aimons!
    Music by Patrick Burgan, Pierre-Adrien Charpy, William Brooks, Kaija Saariaho

Complicity, energy, playfulness, poetry, work on the texture created by the interweaving of the flute and the voice, these are the qualities that we hope to develop in the existing repertoire as well as in new works.

Patrick Burgan
Jeux de femmes (live extract)

The pale pink satin of flutist Camilla Hoitenga, and the black lace of soprano Raphaële Kennedy set the tone for the evening: it was to be a sensual, vibrant dialogue. […] Camilla Hoitenga plays with brio. […] Raphaële Kennedy, an early music specialist, masters all the difficult expressive techniques demanded of her: soaring high notes, pianissimi, strange, magical and spoken sounds. […] This evening a vibrant homage was paid to contemporary music by the oldest of all musical instruments : breath!
Zibeline, Yves Bergé, december 2009


AS A DUET WITH ANNE ETIENVRE | Piano


  • Alanguies ou fantasques?
    French melodies and songs by Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré, Francis Poulenc, Vincent Bouchot, Pierre-Adrien Charpy


Pierre-Adrien Charpy
Le coeur du poète (live extract)


Photos credits:
Les narvals©Lionel D.
L’île Paradis qu’on ne doit pas dire©Isabelle Françaix
Marylise Florid and Raphaële Kennedy©Isabelle Françaix
Anne Etienvre and Raphaële Kennedy©Isabelle Françaix

AVEC ÉLECTRONIQUE


  • L’île Paradis qu’on ne doit pas dire | création 2018

L’écrivain Henry Bauchau (1913-2012) s’écrit à lui-même et destine à ses lecteurs ses réflexions intimes. À partir de ses lettres et de ses journaux rédigés pendant la gestation et l’écriture du roman L’enfant bleu (Actes Sud, 2004) conçu sur une histoire vraie, ce spectacle explore librement les correspondances entre ce qu’on ne sait pas, vit, rêve ou crée quand le quotidien se déchire. Dans l’écho mystérieux des images et des sons, le jeune psychotique Orion dessine à l’hôpital de jour auprès de son « psychothéraprof » les labyrinthes qui le guideront vers la création.

L’enfant bleu est bien un texte fait pour être lu et peut-être un jour mis en musique.
Henry Bauchau, Passage de la Bonne-Graine, 1999

Merci de m’avoir – nous avoir – fait vivre cet instant unique. Je suis sûr qu’Henry [Bauchau] était avec vous, avec nous, et qu’il aurait assurément beaucoup aimé votre Enfant bleu. […] On ne ressort pas indemne de L’île Paradis qu’on ne doit pas dire. […] À tous, nous étions avec vous, avec l’autre, avec le vivant, avec ce qui en nous, nous dépasse et nous comprend. Nous étions dans « l’hymne corporel », celui qui nous anime et nous porte vers l’espérance. […] Nous étions soulevés. Nous sommes descendus dans l’amour et nous avons éprouvé le plus enseveli « dans l’île et le trésor ». Nous étions face à l’abrupt d’une évidence sans nom.
Régis Lefort, écrivain et poète, spécialiste d’Henry Bauchau, 2018

Le spectacle […] met en forme, au prix d’un travail méticuleux, un labyrinthe de sons et d’images, de couleurs et de mots, de voix et de chant… où chacun peut se perdre au gré de son imaginaire. La musique […] de Pierre-Adrien Charpy développe un monde sonore riche […]. Elle est omniprésente, mais laisse une place nécessaire au discours, au récit en mosaïque des voix parlées et/ou chantées de Raphaële Kennedy et Vincent Bouchot. Leur duo émeut au-delà du propos, par leur présence puissante et complice, amplifiée par la « mise en son » fantasmagorique de l’ingénieux-ingénieur Franck Rossi. Le spectacle d’« art total » vaut aussi par la poésie de la création vidéo d’Isabelle Françaix et ses images mouvantes […].
Zibeline, Jacques Freschel, 2018


  • Ekstasis
    Musique de Kaija Saariaho, Jean-Baptiste Barrière
    Images de Jean-Baptiste Barrière

Aliisa Neige Barrière | violon
Camilla Hoitenga | flûtes
Raphaële Kennedy | voix
Jean-Baptiste Barrière | conception et réalisation
Thomas Goepfer | réalisation informatique musicale
Pierre-Jean Bouyer, François Galard | co-réalisation
Isabelle Barrière | caméras et régie vidéo

Ce concert/spectacle, avec sa dimension visuelle qui s’inscrit étroitement dans la continuité de mon écriture, propose […] un chemin, une traversée de mon œuvre, et témoigne de manière originale de mon parcours musical.
Kaija Saariaho

Avant tout, l’image ne doit pas empêcher d’écouter la musique […]. Elle ne saurait non plus être plaquée sur la musique, ou au contraire illustrative de la musique. Pas plus ne doit-elle procéder du commentaire sur ou autour de la musique. Elle doit donc se réaliser à travers son écriture propre, articulée formellement avec l’écriture musicale, procédant des mêmes idées ou techniques de composition, mais développées dans une autre dimension sensible, sans pléonasme ni antagonisme arbitraires, en interaction dynamique et évolutive. […] Dans ce programme, la musique se déploie dans l’image, l’une devient le prolongement de l’autre.
Jean-Baptiste Barrière


Kaija Saariaho
Lonh (extrait live)

Soprano Raphaële Kennedy gave an outstanding rendition of the vocal element of the piece, which includes much pure singing but also a wealth of extended vocal techniques. Accompanied only by electronics, Kennedy managed to retain her sense of pitch while sailing magnificently through the enormous vocal challenges Lonh presents.
Opera News, Argo McKinnon, 2012

[…] Lonh, a solo soprano work given a virtuosic reading by Raphaële Kennedy […]
The New-York Times, Allan Kozinn, 2012

Raphaële Kennedy was the riveting soloist in the newest work on the program, Ekstasis (2014).
The New-York Times, Zachary Woolfe, 2014


  • À elle-même révélée
    Musique de Pierre-Adrien Charpy, Robert Pascal, Kaija Saariaho

A-t-on seulement idée de combien une chanteuse est seule dans un pareil programme, malgré le plus considérable des orchestres, aux effectifs infinis, aux timbres sans limites? Seule, indiscutablement, mais pas absolument. […] il s’agit surtout de l’unicité relative de la voix passée par « le traitement électronique en temps réel ». L’expression, inélégante, sent encore un peu son geek, mais ne signifie pourtant rien de plus ésotérique qu’une façon nouvelle d’ouvrir et de peupler les espaces musicaux qui se creusent autour de la voix. Voix doublée, redoublée, prise dans l’écho, accompagnée, suivie, anticipée ou rattrapée par ces voix autres qui nous habitent sans qu’on en soit réellement conscient jusqu’à ce qu’un compositeur, justement, les révèle.
Didier Lamare

Pierre-Adrien Charpy
Vivante morte éblouie (extrait coffret 2 CD Sillages)

Robert Pascal
Xi ling (extrait live)

La voix de Raphaële Kennedy relèverait […] du cristal, du translucide, de l’éclat qui surgit sur l’angle du mot. Un cristal où passeraient, insaisissables, des couleurs, comme dans ces vitraux d’aujourd’hui qu’on fond à très vive température; oui, ce serait quelque-chose de cet ordre-là, une voix fusing, virtuose sans esbroufe, un cristal de chair, une transparence incarnée. Parce qu’il ne suffit pas, comme un cristal bat dans les électroniques, de chanter des phonèmes en usant de tous les moyens d’expression qui font sonner la langue […]. Il faut aussi, en même temps et avec la même exigence, en tirer la chair et le sang, la palpitation du sens, nous en donner le goût afin d’en transmettre l’émotion. C’est exactement ce qui se passe des deux côtés du miroir de l’électronique, petit miracle renouvelé à chaque instant par l’entrelacement de la voix fixée et de la voix vivante.
Demi-cadratin.fr, Didier Lamare, mai 2015

Vivante morte éblouie, deux paragraphes de Belle du Seigneur d’Albert Cohen où roule la houle sur les ondes électroniques éclairées de l’écume lumineuse de la voix de Raphaële Kennedy […].
Le blog-note de Benito sur radio dialogue RCF, Benito Pelegrín, 2017


  • Écrire la nuit
    Musique de Kaija Saariaho, Philippe Leroux, Loïse Bulot

Dans ce programme aux textes éclectiques, la voix porte le désir qu’ont les artistes d’écrire la nuit, leur nuit. La musique astrale de Loïse Bulot entraîne dans le rêve. Elle accompagne Emily Dickinson pour qui l’obscurité est toujours nécessaire et libératrice ; elle répond au monde intérieur de Kaija Saariaho et à l’amour éthéré vécu par-delà la distance du troubadour Jaufré Rudel ; elle s’oppose aux gestes sonores dynamiques de Philippe Leroux et à l’expression brûlante des ténèbres et de la lumière d’Edmond Jabès.


EN DUO AVEC YANNICK VARLET | Orgue


  • O beata Virgo
    Musique de Claudio Monteverdi, Alessandro Grandi, Giovanni Felice Sances, Bonifacio Graziani

« Qui est-elle celle qui brille comme l’aurore, lorsqu’elle paraît ?…belle comme la lune, distinguée comme le soleil, elle remplit d’allégresse la terre, les cieux, les mers. »


  • Gott, eile zu mir
    Musique de Heinrich Schütz, Dietrich Buxtehude, Johann-Christoph Bach

Au XVIIème siècle, on disait que l’Italie chantait, que la France dansait et que l’Allemagne priait. La production des compositeurs germaniques de cette époque est marquée par cette profonde piété.


  • Veni in hortum meum
    Musique française du XVIIème siècle

La musique illustrant ce programme s’appuie directement sur le texte universel et tout à fait à part dans la Bible qu’est le Cantique des Cantiques. Attribué au grand roi Salomon, sage entre les sages, ce grand poème d’amour contient la double signification de l’amour humain et de l’amour mystique.


EN DUO AVEC JEAN-LUC HO | Clavecin


  • Visages de femmes dans les songs de Purcell

Toutes les femmes qui habitent la poésie des songs de Henry Purcell sont autant d’images contrastées. On trouve dans les recueils Orpheus Britannicus et Harmonia sacra – dont des extraits font l’objet de ce programme – la bien-aimée absente, dédaigneuse, cruelle, l’amoureuse elle-même transie, la future reine, la Déesse, la Vierge. Purcell leur rend tour à tour hommage avec le génie qu’on lui sait.


  • Sances et Valentini, compositeurs italiens à la cour de Vienne

EN DUO AVEC MARYLISE FLORID | Guitare


  • Soleils
    Textes et Musique de Federico Garcia-Lorca, Manuel De Falla, Enrique Granados, Heitor Villa-Lobos, Andrée Chédid, Pierre-Adrien Charpy

En sublimant le phénomène naturel d’alternance de soleils temporels, cette poésie et cette musique incarnées et contrastées dépeignent deux soleils intérieurs ou émotionnels. Le premier est le symbole du jour, de la vie, de l’action, des sentiments passionnels, extrêmes et exaltés tandis que le deuxième est celui du repos nocturne, de la contemplation, des sentiments nostalgiques et mélancoliques.

Federico Garcia-Lorca
Canciones españolas antiguas (extrait live)

Pierre-Adrien Charpy
Ce corps (extrait coffret 2 CD Sillages)

[…] on entend ici tout du mot dans la voix. Sa mélancolie intérieure et sa lumière, son pouvoir de découper en rougeoyant les cuirasses glacées, mais aussi le souffle qui l’anime, le feutre d’une certaine fragilité : on y entend le corps en tension permanente, chaque mot du poème travaillé par le contre-chant de la guitare.
Didier Lamare, 2017


EN DUO AVEC CAMILLA HOITENGA | Flûtes


  • Aimons!
    Musique de Patrick Burgan, Pierre-Adrien Charpy, William Brooks, Kaija Saariaho

Complicité, énergie, ludisme, poésie, travail sur la texture qu’offrent flûte et voix enlacées sont les atouts que nous développons aussi bien dans le répertoire existant que dans des créations.

Patrick Burgan
Jeux de femmes (extrait live)

Camilla Hoitenga, flûtiste et Raphaële Kennedy, soprano, noires dentelles, satin rose pâle, annonçaient la couleur : ce serait un échange sensuel et vibrant. […] Camilla Hoitenga joue avec brio. […] Raphaële Kennedy, spécialiste de musiques anciennes, maîtrise toutes les difficultés techniques et expressives : aigus planants, pianissimi, sons parlés, étranges et magiques. […] Un vibrant hommage à la musique contemporaine avec le plus ancien des instruments : le souffle!
Zibeline, Yves Bergé, décembre 2009


EN DUO AVEC ANNE ETIENVRE | Piano


  • Alanguies ou fantasques?
    Mélodies françaises et chansons de Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré, Francis Poulenc, Vincent Bouchot, Pierre-Adrien Charpy


Pierre-Adrien Charpy
Le coeur du poète (extrait live)


Crédits photos:
L’île Paradis qu’on ne doit pas dire©Isabelle Françaix
Raphaële Kennedy in Ekstasis©Isabelle Barrière
Marylise Florid et Raphaële Kennedy©Isabelle Françaix
Anne Etienvre et Raphaële Kennedy©Isabelle Françaix