A MUSICAL AND VISUAL COLLECTION

Collection AVEC on the record label Cypres is the fruit of the meeting of the creative worlds of the composer Pierre-Adrien Charpy, the soprano Raphaële Kennedy and the photographer and video artist Isabelle Françaix; it develops a collaboration in which music and image express themselves in a common space that encourages metamorphosis. It enables new creations to live alongside Early Music and folk music: interlacing textures, stratifying memory, dialoguing between different artistic disciplines. Collection Avec opens up new ways of listening, taking the listener off the beaten track, sign-posted by Didier Lamare‘s words. The Belgian record label Cypres crosses many frontiers around the shared dream of three French artists and a raconteur.

At this time when the CD object disappears for the benefit of the only sound object, directly accessible by the internet, new collection AVECypres tries an alternative that would be the squaring of the circle : to insert a musical proposal – particularly plentiful in this particular case – in a beam of artistic objects in intimate connection with the central proposal and wholly or partly accessible via the universal cloud themselves.
La Libre Culture, Martine D. Mergeay, 2017


CREATIONS


Kaija Saariaho | Jean-Baptiste Barrière
Set Blu-Ray & CD Ekstasis
Aliisa Neige Barrière | Camilla Hoitenga | Raphaële Kennedy | Design and realisation of the images, electronics and final mixing, electronics realisation : Jean-Baptiste Barrière | Video processing : Pierre-Jean Bouyer et François Galard | Video shooting, editing and color grading : Isabelle Barrière | Technical  conception and supervision : Image Auditive | Engineering, editing, vocal and instrumental sound mixing : David Lefeber / Metier Productions | Electronics realisation : Thomas Goepfer | Booklet notes : Didier Lamare | Translations : Paul Willenbrock | Digipack’s pictures and booklet’s cover : Jean-Baptiste Barrière | Booklet’s photographs : Isabelle Françaix | Graphic design : Luc Van de Velde | Interviews moderated by Pierre-Adrien Charpy, directed by Isabelle Françaix
AVECypres 02 / CYP2624

Sensory correspondences, displacement of the imaginary, reversal of perspectives: it is to such an experience that ekstasis invites you, a musical recording and multimedia object constructed from sound and image centred on six works by Kaija Saariaho and Jean-Baptiste Barrière. The complementarity of their creative paths, living together and often working together, shape the fairly precise organization of the work featured in this album. Prima la musica, dopo la visione… The three works by Kaija Saariaho are musical compositions – sonic, acoustic and electronic constructions, which already existed before her husband unfurled his vision of them. The three pieces by Jean-Baptiste Barrière were conceived as multimedia works, and primarily for a visual concert, with lines and rhythms that are perhaps more direct, leaving spaces open for receiving the images. The album is at the same time a première and, although not a retrospective as such, at least a look back over twenty years of Jean-Baptiste Barrière’s multimedia work with music, and especially on the visual concert. Set down for the first time on a high-definition medium, with meticulous attention to calibration, editing and to every breath, this work has been freed from the vagaries of the stage to face other constraints.
Didier Lamare


Pierre-Adrien Charpy
two-CD set Sillages
Raphaële Kennedy | Duo Anthony Leroy & Sandra Moubarak | Thomas Keck | Marylise Florid | Anaïs Gaudemard | Solistes XXI, conducting Rachid Safir | Moussa Héma | DA PACEM : Sylvie Moquet, Yannick Varlet, Pierre-Adrien Charpy | Engineering, editing, sound mixing : David Lefeber / Metier Productions | Booklet notes : Didier Lamare | Translations : Paul Willenbrock | Photographs : Isabelle Françaix | Graphic design : Luc Van de Velde
AVECypres 01 / CYP2623

Some sorts of music can sound like delicate lithographs, others like large frescoes. The pieces presented in the first volume of this album belong to the composer’s collection of jewellery, his etchings, his small-scale works with the delicate wash of the watercolour or the precise impasto of the paintbrush. The second volume unfurls in one breath a concert-work which is nothing less than a panorama painted on fresh plaster, depicting an almost hallucinatory voyage in which the listener is invited to dance just as much as to meditate. This hour of music, a sequence of baroque, contemporary and traditional music, forms an innovative opening to the music of our time, into which some will venture who would otherwise never have dared.
Didier Lamare

His is an organic multifaceted music, through which run visible strata and unsuspected crevices, enlivened by surface currents and subterranean flows. […] His music is that of today, neither modern nor post-modern – often a music of the sea, always of open spaces, of zoom and of wide-angle, of sensations, of emotions. And his composition is free from the dogmas […].
Didier Lamare, 2017

The album is as much a success on visual plan – signed Isabelle Françaix for photos and Luc Van de Velde for the graphic design – than on the literary level, thanks to Didier Lamare’s captivating texts (which are not without humour), which lead the reader through a program […] of an outstanding richness and diversity. In the middle of it, French Pierre-Adrien Charpy, […] a prolific, imaginative and free composer, whose every work here presented is the fruits of a specific alliance and, therefore, a particular inspiration. At the top, those which make the close connection to his partner […] the soprano Raphaële Kennedy.
La Libre Culture, Martine D. Mergeay, 2017

At the beginning, a long and winding tune for Raphaële Kennedy’s voice […]! We can hear the bodies abandon over the sensual breath of the soprano, over rhythmic stubbornness and hanging twinkle percussions, over the surf of the sea… […] vast sound world imagined, between 2001 and 2015, by one so major as talented composer […]! In « Sillages », one can discover sound dialogues mixing traditional textures and electronics. It is an invitation to travel towards so familiar land as incredible […]. They are metis pieces, imbued with sensuality and light, lively, powerful and voluptuous, which reflect Pierre-Adrien Charpy’s opening to historic, geographical and stylistic worlds.
Zibeline, Jacques Freschel, 2017

Pierre-Adrien Charpy, […] escaped from chapels, [is] focused on the essentials : to breathe, to feel, to transmit. From Marseille, he is a solar and marine musician. The photographs illustrating the digipack testify of this deep water and iridescent lights universe, which it is easy to identify in most of his pieces. Intellectual, that is knowledge is not a shame for him, sometimes mystic, he discreetly uses in his work the accumulated strata of Western culture […].
Valeurs Actuelles, Lionel Lestang, 2017

At the composer Pierre-Adrien Charpy, there is […] a whole memory of the music which appears […] : it is the density of a rich sound layer, fed in depth on past in modernity’s present.
Le blog-note de Benito on radio dialogue RCF, Benito Pelegrín, 2017


Isabelle Françaix 
Movie Vivante morte éblouie 
Raphaële Kennedy | Image : Isabelle Françaix | Music : Pierre-Adrien Charpy | Sound : David Lefeber | Producer : Hervé Alexandre – Matsylie Productions

A woman repossesses one’s image by giving way to love. At the heart of intimacy, two beings discover by getting closer the liberty which connects them to the beating of the world. Why don’t we just find the simple, obvious and wild beauty of our humanity?

[…] outstanding and bright […]. Everything is light, body, nature and voice there.
La Libre Culture, Martine D. Mergeay, 2017


CONTACT


Collection AVECypres
Contact : dapacem1901@gmail.com
Blog : collectionavec.canalblog.com
Facebook page : https://www.facebook.com/Avec-1295990593785592

Pierre-Adrien Charpy & Raphaële Kennedy
musical producers
Phones : +33 (0)6 63 63 68 53 / +33 (0)6 60 92 25 62
contact@pierreadriencharpy.com
contact@raphaelekennedy.com

Isabelle Françaix
image producer
Phone : +32 (0)496 13 87 76
isabellefrancaix@ramifications.be

UNE COLLECTION MUSICALE ET VISUELLE

Fruit de la rencontre entre les univers du compositeur Pierre-Adrien Charpy, de la soprano Raphaële Kennedy et de la photographe vidéaste Isabelle Françaix, la collection AVEC du label Cypres développe une collaboration où la musique et l’image s’articulent dans un espace commun ouvert à la métamorphose. La création y côtoie le répertoire des musiques anciennes et traditionnelles : textures entrelacées, stratification de la mémoire, dialogue entre les disciplines artistiques. Avec propose des chemins d’écoute hors des territoires connus, le long d’itinéraires balisés par les mots de Didier Lamare. Le label belge Cypres traverse les frontières autour du rêve commun de trois artistes français.

En ce moment où l’objet CD disparaît au bénéfice de l’unique objet sonore, directement accessible par le net, la nouvelle collection AVECypres tente une alternative qui serait bien la quadrature du cercle : insérer une proposition musicale – particulièrement abondante en l’occurrence – dans un faisceau d’objets artistiques en intime liaison avec la proposition centrale et, eux aussi, accessibles, en tout ou partie, via le nuage universel.
La Libre Culture, Martine D. Mergeay, 2017


RÉALISATIONS


Kaija Saariaho | Jean-Baptiste Barrière
Coffret Blu-Ray & CD Ekstasis
Aliisa Neige Barrière | Camilla Hoitenga | Raphaële Kennedy | Conception et réalisation des images, mixages électronique et final, réalisation de l’informatique musicale : Jean-Baptiste Barrière | Traitements vidéos : Pierre-Jean Bouyer et François Galard | Prises de vue, montage et étalonnage : Isabelle Barrière | Conception et supervision techniques : Image Auditive | Prise de son, montage, mixage vocal et instrumental : David Lefeber / Metier Productions | Réalisation de l’informatique musicale : Thomas Goepfer | Textes du livret : Didier Lamare | Traductions : Paul Willenbrock | Photographies du digipack et couverture du livret : Jean-Baptiste Barrière | Photographies du livret : Isabelle Françaix | Graphisme : Luc Van de Velde | Interviews menées par Pierre-Adrien Charpy, réalisées par Isabelle Françaix
AVECypres 02 / CYP2624

Correspondances sensorielles, déplacement de l’imaginaire, renversement des perspectives : c’est à une expérience similaire que vous invite ekstasis, enregistrement musical et objet multimédia construit par le son et l’image autour de six œuvres de Kaija Saariaho et de Jean-Baptiste Barrière. La complémentarité de leurs parcours de créateurs, vivant ensemble et travaillant souvent de même, dessinent l’organisation assez précise du travail présenté dans cet album. Prima la musica, dopo la visione… Les trois œuvres de Kaija Saariaho sont des compositions musicales, des constructions sonores, acoustiques et électroniques, préexistant à la vision qu’en déploie son époux. Les trois pièces de Jean-Baptiste Barrière ont été pensées comme des œuvres multimédias, et d’abord pour le concert visuel, avec des lignes et des rythmes peut-être plus directs, qui laissent ouverts des espaces propres à recevoir les images. L’ objet est à la fois une première et, sinon un bilan, du moins un regard sur vingt ans du travail multimédia mené par Jean-Baptiste Barrière sur la musique, et spécialement autour du concert visuel. Fixée pour la première fois sur un support en haute définition, avec un soin maniaque accordé à l’étalonnage, au montage, aux respirations, la création s’est affranchie des vicissitudes de la scène pour aller s’affronter à d’autres contraintes.
Didier Lamare

Un enivrant Blu-Ray met en images sonores « six concerts visuels » de la compositrice finlandaise Kaija Saariaho et du compositeur-réalisateur français Jean-Baptiste Barrière.
L’Echo, Stéphane Renard, 2019

Coffret Ekstasis, objet précieux et hors norme.
Un voyage sensoriel qui accompagne une musique qui l’est tout autant.
Le soir, Gaëlle Moury, 2019

[…] Même propension à la confidence intimiste dans les trois œuvres de chaque compositeur. Celles de Saariaho (écrites dans les années 1990) témoignent d’une exceptionnelle qualité de déploiement. Tissage arachnéen pour Nocturne, amplification spatialisée pour NoaNoa et révolutions enchanteresses pour Lonh. Plus récentes (2003-2014), celles de Barrière (le virevoltant Crossing the Blind Forest, l’envoûtant Violance et le pénétrant Ekstasis) révèlent un goût pour la projection du geste vocal ou instrumental qui, avant même de visionner le Blu-ray couplé au CD (même programme, avec images), assure que le musicien se double d’un authentique metteur en scène.
Le Monde, Pierre Gervasoni, 2019

Trois musiciennes complices sont ici réunies : la flûtiste Camilla Hoitenga, fidèle aux dédales des deux compositeurs; la violoniste Aliisa Neige Barrière, leur fille, dont la présence physique et musicale diffuse un enchantement vénéneux; la soprano Raphaële Kennedy, dans une incarnation à la pointe d’argent qui impose à notre avis les versions de référence des deux pièces vocales.
Valeurs actuelles, L. L, 2019

Acheter le coffret (Cypres records)

Commander par mail au producteur (Da Pacem)

Acheter la version dématérialisée (vimeo AVECypres)


Pierre-Adrien Charpy
Coffret 2 CD Sillages
Raphaële Kennedy | Duo Anthony Leroy & Sandra Moubarak | Thomas Keck | Marylise Florid | Anaïs Gaudemard | Solistes XXI, direction Rachid Safir | Moussa Héma | DA PACEM : Sylvie Moquet, Yannick Varlet, Pierre-Adrien Charpy | Prise de son, montage, mixage : David Lefeber / Metier Productions | Textes du livret : Didier Lamare | Traductions : Paul Willenbrock | Photographies : Isabelle Françaix | Graphisme : Luc Van de Velde
AVECypres 01 / CYP2623

Certaines musiques s’écoutent au poinçon, d’autres s’entendent à la fresque. Les pièces réunies sur le premier volume de cet enregistrement appartiennent à l’orfèvrerie du compositeur, ses gravures à l’eau forte, ses petits formats à l’éclaboussure d’aquarelle ou à l’empâtement décidé de la brosse. Le second déploie d’une traite une œuvre-concert qui relève, elle, du panorama saisi dans le plâtre frais, du voyage presque hallucinatoire, où il n’est pas interdit de danser non plus que de méditer. Cette heure de musiques enchaînées, baroques, contemporaines, traditionnelles, constitue une ouverture inédite sur la musique de notre temps, où pourront se faufiler certains qui jamais n’y seraient venus autrement.
Didier Lamare

C’est une musique organique et multiple, parcourue de strates visibles et de crevasses insoupçonnées, animée de courants de surface et de flux souterrains. […] Sa musique est d’aujourd’hui, ni moderne, ni post-moderne – une musique de mer souvent, d’espaces toujours, de zoom et de grand-angle, de sensations, d’émotions. Et son écriture libérée des dogmes […].
Didier Lamare, 2017

L’album est une réussite sur le plan visuel – signé Isabelle Françaix pour les photos et Luc Van de Velde pour la conception graphique – , et tout autant sur le plan littéraire, grâce aux textes captivants (et non dénués d’humour) de Didier Lamare, qui guide le lecteur à travers un programme […] d’une richesse et d’une diversité exceptionnelles. Au coeur de l’affaire, le Français Pierre-Adrien Charpy, […] compositeur prolifique, imaginatif et libre, dont chaque oeuvre ici présentée est le fruit d’une alliance et, partant, d’une inspiration particulières. En tête desquelles, celles qui l’unissent à sa compagne […] la soprano Raphaële Kennedy.
La Libre Culture, Martine D. Mergeay, 2017

Au commencement, une longue et sinueuse mélodie pour la voix de Raphaële Kennedy […]! C’est l’abandon des corps qu’on entend, au fil du souffle sensuel de la soprano, de l’obstination des rythmes, de la suspension des percussions scintillantes, du ressac de la mer… […] vaste monde sonore imaginé, entre 2001 et 2015, par un compositeur autant incontournable que talentueux […]! On découvre dans « Sillages » des dialogues sonores mêlant des textures traditionnelles à l’électronique, invitations au voyage vers des contrées autant familières qu’inouïes […]. Des pièces métissées qui reflètent l’ouverture aux mondes historiques, géographiques et stylistiques de Pierre-Adrien Charpy, empreintes de sensualité, de lumière, animées, puissantes et voluptueuses.
Zibeline, Jacques Freschel, 2017

Pierre-Adrien Charpy, […] échappé des chapelles, [est] concentré sur l’essentiel : respirer, ressentir, transmettre. Marseillais, il est un musicien solaire et maritime. Les photographies illustrant le coffret témoignent de cet univers d’eaux profondes et de lumières irisées qu’il est aisé de repérer dans la plupart de ses pièces. Intellectuel, c’est-à-dire que le savoir chez lui n’est pas une honte, parfois mystique, il utilise discrètement dans son travail les strates accumulées de la culture occidentale […].
Valeurs Actuelles, Lionel Lestang, 2017

Chez le compositeur Pierre-Adrien Charpy, il y a […] toute une mémoire de la musique qui affleure […] : c’est la densité même d’une riche couche sonore nourrie en profondeur d’un passé dans le présent de la modernité.
Le blog-note de Benito sur radio dialogue RCF, Benito Pelegrín, 2017

Acheter le coffret (Cypres records)

Commander par mail au producteur (Da Pacem)


Isabelle Françaix 
Film Vivante morte éblouie 
Raphaële Kennedy | Image : Isabelle Françaix | Musique : Pierre-Adrien Charpy | Son : David Lefeber | Production : Hervé Alexandre – Matsylie Productions

Une femme se réapproprie son image dans l’abandon amoureux. Au cœur de l’intime, deux êtres découvrent en s’approchant la liberté qui les relie au battement du monde. Et si, ensauvagés, nous retrouvions la beauté simple et évidente de notre humanité ?

[…] hors norme et lumineux […]. Tout y est lumière, corps, nature et voix.
La Libre Culture, Martine D. Mergeay, 2017


CONTACTS


Collection AVECypres
Contact : dapacem1901@gmail.com
Blog : collectionavec.canalblog.com

Pierre-Adrien Charpy & Raphaële Kennedy
directeurs artistiques musique
Tél. : +33 (0)6 63 63 68 53 / +33 (0)6 60 92 25 62
contact@pierreadriencharpy.com
contact@raphaelekennedy.com

Isabelle Françaix
directrice artistique image
Tél. : +32 (0)496 13 87 76
isabellefrancaix@ramifications.be